Roots Growing Deeper

Tea ~ Satin Pear

It’s funny how sometimes God puts certain themes in your life in very obvious ways. Probably because I either didn’t notice or was ignoring it before. Not only is it January, the beginning of 2013, but there have been 3 very blatant things the last couple of weeks reminding me to go back to the beginning, back to my Creator, to be thankful for His creation and creativity that I get to take pleasure in.

1. Every year at Missio Dei, we go back to the beginning and talk about creation, the fall, redemption and restoration. It’s a good reminder of where we came from and where we are going as a body of believers.

2. I’m reading through the Bible in a year for the second time start to finish. This time chronologically. I’m really enjoying reading everything in order and how after Genesis comes Job. Once the foundation of the earth has been laid and we’ve seen some of God’s most faithful servants in Noah, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob and Joseph, to then see Satan begging God to see how faithful they will be once they’ve lost everything – land, livestock, family, health. Even Job’s own wife basically told him to “curse God and die.” It’s so encouraging to read a story about a man as steadfast as Job who praised God and thanked Him when he had plenty and had nothing. “You foolish woman. Should we accept only the good things from the hand of God and never anything bad?” – Job 4:10

3. My women’s Bible Study has been reading Praying the Names of God for the last 6 months or so. Each chapter is a different name of God found in scripture (most of which I can’t pronounce, even with the pronunciation guide) and each day of that week is focused on verses and stories about that aspect of God’s character. I would definitely say that the chapters/names/aspect of God’s character that have resonated most are the ones that are related to the current life stage I am in, selfish as that is. This week’s chapter is on Elohim (e-lo-HEEM) or “God, Mighty Creator.”

I am loving all of these studies of scripture being focused on the beginning. Sometimes, I just want a do over to wipe away every out-of-context assumption I or others have made about God or who I am in Christ and start over. It’s so easy to be in denial and to think that we’ve got it all figured out and that we know God’s plans and purposes for ourselves (or that there is no God and we have no purpose), even after more than 15 years of calling Him my Lord & Savior; but clearly I don’t, we don’t, and we’re not supposed to. A verse that stayed with me at the end of last year and became my new anthem in RESTING in God is in Colossians:

“And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him. Let your roots grow down into him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.” Colossians 2:6-7

Thankfulness has now become the yard stick by which my words and actions are measured. And going back to the beginning in 2013 has given me a refreshing sense of opportunity for gratitude to my Maker & Creator. Job praised God again and again, why can’t I?

One of the devotionals of the “God, Mighty Creator” chapter said to ask God “To renew your sense of wonder and gratitude for the things he has made.” What a powerful prayer to bring forth an outpouring of thankfulness! I mean, come on! He is the AUTHOR of creativity. He made something out of nothing!

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was formless and empty, and darkness covered the deep waters. And the spirit of God was hovering over the surface of the waters.” Genesis 1:1-2

Those 2 verses give me chills and that’s just the beginning of the story. What a Great and Mighty and All Powerful God we serve! He gave form to a formless world, and knit each of us in our mother’s womb (Psalm 135) and yet, today I find myself being gracious for grapefruit. It seems so silly and unimportant compared to the WORLD and the UNIVERSE, but what a gorgeous fruit He made for us to enjoy and take pleasure in!

320900_10100254261644744_1781522537_n

What are you thankful for and taking pleasure in today?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , on by .

About Sarah Amidon

I am a follower of Jesus Christ. I've been married to my husband, Greg, for 10 years. We've lived in Dallas (4 years) Chicago (3 years) and now a suburb of Indianapolis with our son Zeke (born January 2014) and Wesley (born June 2016) and dog Miller. We love the journey God has us on together! I enjoy being a stay at home mom, cooking, playing volleyball (beach, grass or indoor, I'm there!), advocating for non-profit organizations in the fight against human trafficking, traveling and going on adventures! I am blessed by friends and family and the ministries and missionaries that we support. We love hosting people and getting to know them, so come on over for dinner or to stay the night! Above all, I love God and being reminded that I am His masterpiece (Ephesians 2:10), even with my flaws.

3 thoughts on “Roots Growing Deeper

  1. Ruth Lussier

    Today I am thankful for a warm home I am taking pleasure in the magic of putting my laundry in and coming out clean! Just like my soul due to Jesus’ gift of salvation

    Reply
  2. Connie Reimer

    I am thankful for God’s provision on every level – esp a warm home, winter coat, gloves, dependable vehicle and resources that supply needs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

