Dutch Apple Baby Pancake

Tea ~ Caramel Apple

Have you ever used a Vita-Mix? It’s the most amazing blender/food processor ever! They use it to make blended drinks and smoothies at coffee shops and restaurants. It heats up pureed soups while it’s on, it turns wheat berries into flour, it grinds coffee, you can put all your ingredients into it to make guacamole…only halving a tomato, no need to chop it! I love it!

I tried making my own flour for the first time since getting one in April, and I didn’t realize how easy it would be! I may just do this regularly. All-purpose flour tends to bleach out important nutrients like zinc and magnesium, which I’m pretty sure I have been deficient in and has been causing some health issues for me the last few months/years. And even “whole wheat flour” could be caramel colored to make it look more healthy, the key word is “grain” if you are looking for a flour that has not lost much of it’s nutritional value, as in “whole grain wheat flour.”

Hubby & I got up a little early this morning before church to make this Dutch Apple Baby Pancake for breakfast together. See below for the recipe or skip below for my quick summary of it (based on the photo at the top of this post).

Dutch Apple Baby

Wheat berries turned into flour, sugar turned into to powdered sugar (I did not know that was how powdered sugar was made! Just stick it into the vita-mix!), sauteed apples in butter, cinnamon, sugar & nutmeg, blended pancake batter mixed in the vita-mix & poured over the top of the apples top and bake. Garnish with powdered sugar & cinnamon. DELISH!

This might be a new signature breakfast/dessert dish in the Amidon house. Taking it to our Bible Study/Gospel Community right now along with a big carafe of Caramel Apple Rooibos Tea. I’m sure it will be a hit!

This entry was posted in Food & Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , on by .

About Sarah Amidon

I am a follower of Jesus Christ. I've been married to my husband, Greg, for 10 years. We've lived in Dallas (4 years) Chicago (3 years) and now a suburb of Indianapolis with our son Zeke (born January 2014) and Wesley (born June 2016) and dog Miller. We love the journey God has us on together! I enjoy being a stay at home mom, cooking, playing volleyball (beach, grass or indoor, I'm there!), advocating for non-profit organizations in the fight against human trafficking, traveling and going on adventures! I am blessed by friends and family and the ministries and missionaries that we support. We love hosting people and getting to know them, so come on over for dinner or to stay the night! Above all, I love God and being reminded that I am His masterpiece (Ephesians 2:10), even with my flaws.

Leave a Reply

