Store up my treasures

20121012-000321.jpg

tea – lemon velvet

When do you decide that you a are steward of everything you have and are…

If indeed I am to steward this body for the good of the kingdom of heaven, why do I continue to struggle with self image. Does my house look nice and clean, does hair look the right color, am I wearing flattering makeup, are my clothes telling my husband I’m sexy, his friends that I’m modest and yet look like a mom, because I want people to know I am a mom, does my jewelry sparkle enough, do I act well always, am I driving the right vehicle, do I impress everyone I meet with my friendly personality And charm? oh goodness I feel like I could write what ifs all day.

“For no good tree bears bad fruit, nor again does a bad tree bear good fruit, for each tree is known by its own fruit. For figs are not gathered from thornbushes, nor are grapes picked from a bramble bush. The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks. (Luke 6:43-45 ESV)

So where do I show people my treasure lies…

When someone comes to my house do I share about what new additions I’ve made, like a Craigslist find I’ve sparked new life in to or a new pillow I’ve bought?

OR

Do I tell them all the wonderful new opportunities God has given to me to spread the Gospel? Am I sharing the good news? Do I live like the Holy Sprit and I are besties or do I just look at my earthy treasures and flaunt what I have?

SOUL VOMIT

How am I being charged to change? I guess that’s my real question. Now it’s not about just writing a blog to write my feelings and feel better, I feel like I need feedback.

-Jesus says sell what you have and give it to the poor.

Jesus said to him, “If you would be perfect, go, sell what you possess and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me.” When the young man heard this he went away sorrowful, for he had great possessions. But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or lands, for my name’s sake, will receive a hundredfold and will inherit eternal life. But many who are first will be last, and the last first. (Matthew 19:21, 22, 26, 29, 30 ESV)

-If your arm causes you to stumble cut it off.

And if your hand or your foot causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to enter life crippled or lame than with two hands or two feet to be thrown into the eternal fire. (Matthew 18:8 ESV)

SO WHAT IS PRACTICAL…

If I desire to selfishly keep what causes me to stumble from a self image perspective, can I ask the Lord to grant favor on my family to use what we have to give back? Because if I was using what he has given my family to further the kingdom instead of my self I would feel better.
What my life continues to come down to is
want vs need
If my gut says Amy you need a car, ok.
You need clothes, ok. Just not new ones all the time.
You need food, ok but how well am I allowed to eat?
Do I need a big sparkley wedding ring, or other jewelry? No

Dang
Do i need to color my hair, because I am a hairstylist? No

Fine.
Can I have nice things and not feel bad. Yes

Yeah!

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. For by the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgment, each according to the measure of faith that God has assigned. Having gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, in proportion to our faith; Let love be genuine. Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good. Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Contribute to the needs of the saints and seek to show hospitality. Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep. Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good. (Romans 12:2, 3, 6, 9, 12, 13, 15, 21 ESV)

SO

Here is the deal, my life is not a game I play with God like a child plays games with their parents. Mommy and daddy, if I do this then I want this…ok, great. God if I do this then I want that. We aren’t bargaining with him like we do when we barter for a deal. I believe God has given everyone, every family a different set of gifts. We are to take care of each other and love one another using those gifts and resources. If those resources are causing you to play games within your faith, maybe it’s time to cut something off. I know for sure that after writing this I realize that I have to start a new approach to sharing what is important to me, because as much as I love my new throw pillow on my couch, I want to share what God is doing in my life and in the lives of those around me because I have been a faithful disciple for the gospel. I want other Christians’ walk with the Lord to be stronger because of me instead of more distracted from the truth.

I will leave you with this quote from the book I’m currently seeking answers in…BE Dynamic, Warren W. Wiersbe( p.85)

“The greatest miracle of all is the transformation of a lost sinner into a child of God by the grace of God. That is the miracle that meets the greatest need, lasts the longest, and costs the greatest price- the blood of God’s son.”

It’s not about the stuff… Where do you store your treasure?

20121012-000526.jpg

One thought on “Store up my treasures

  1. Sarah Amidon

    Thanks for sharing your heart Amy and for having the courage to make a change. I look forward to reading many many more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

