Homemade Applesauce

Tea ~ Apple Harvest

Today was the first time I have ever attempted applesauce. I don’t have any fancy attachments for my kitchen aid so I thought it would take a lot of work. I was really wrong! Here is how I made mine…

First  buy 3 different kinds of apples, I bought mine at a farmers market because I love to support local business. I bought one tart, two crisp but sweet varieties.
image

image

Peel the apples using a simple skin peeler.
image
image

image

Core and slice the apples using a apple slicer or knife.
image

image

Place in steamer basket, steam until a fork slides through easily, for me it was about 30 mins.
image

Put steamed apples in to the blender with 2 spoons of the cider created from the steaming process.(It can take a cup of liquid for 4lbs of fruit)
image

TADA!

I am a all natural kinda woman so I didn’t add any cinnamon or sugar. Please let me know how you make your apple sauce. I am enjoying my cider out of the steamer too… added bonus!
image

image

If you were making baby food at this pureed state you would then portion out the applesauce in to ice cube trays, cover with saran wrap until frozen then place in labeled Zip to close baggies. If you have any questions feel free to leave a comment.
image

image

image

This entry was posted in Food & Nutrition on by .

About Amy Arentson

I am a a disciple of Jesus Christ, Wife to Peter, Mother to Elaine, Daughter of Marc and Julie (Bruce and Joanne), Sister to Susan (Emily & Dave, Michael), Dog Owner of Maui and Annie. I have been a licensed Cosmetologist since November 2007. We currently live in Saint Peters, Missouri. We attend Calvary Church in Saint Charles.

Leave a Reply

