Worth(less)

Tea ~ Apricot Oolong

Let me preface my first post since college (where I think I wrote mostly to procrastinate from doing schoolwork rather than sharing what was on my heart, but you can read it here. Enjoy. Also, if any of you had a Xanga back then, you may be linked on the bottom lefthand side.) by saying that starting a blog has been on my mind for a number of months. Perhaps even years. But like many things that I am encouraged by friends and family to do because they tell me I am or could be good at it, I often find myself not believing them. Not because what they are saying isn’t true, but because it seems easier to believe that I am inadequate and that what I do isn’t worth beans. “Why would I start a blog? No one wants to read what I have to say.” This is just the tip of the iceberg. Friends have mentioned a time or two that I have a “manifesto” style of writing. However, I will do my best to condense it as much as possible into shorter, more frequent posts as to not overwhelm you with the seemly hundreds of thoughts that swirl in my mind on a daily basis, many of them stemming from my feelings of inadequacy and worth. Let me tell you as I tell myself:

THESE ARE LIES!

We have one true and glorious SAVIOR that tells us we are made perfect, a new creation, by the ONE. PERFECT. SPOTLESS LAMB. (2 Corinthians 5:17; 1 Peter 1:19)

“For by that one offering he forever made perfect those who are being made holy. And the Holy Spirit also testifies that this is so. For he says, “This is the NEW covenant I will make with my people on that day, says the Lord:  I will put my laws in their hearts, and I will write them on their minds.” Then he says, “I will never again remember their sins and lawless deeds.” And when sins have been forgiven, there is no need to offer any more sacrifices.” Hebrews 10:14-18

You are made perfect. You are made worthy. You are made sufficient because HE is sufficient. We have freedom in the one, true God on account of Christ.

What lies are you believing today? What are you letting define your worth and identity?

This blog is not about me. It’s not about my good works, but about the good work He is doing in me. I am writing because He has called me to share my joys and trials so that you might be encouraged. I can tell you that I share very openly and honestly, even if that means I might get hurt. But, if it brings more fame to the One I love, then it’s worth it. For without loving Him, I cannot love you. And sharing of myself, the good and the bad, is the best way I know to love others. Of the hundreds of swirling thoughts both you and I may have at any given moment, I pray that the Lord would daily write His new covenant on your mind as He promises. That those thoughts would be filtered by His love for you. That Jesus Christ would impress upon your heart and by God’s grace and mercy, that you would know that you are worthy.

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , on by .

About Sarah Amidon

I am a follower of Jesus Christ. I've been married to my husband, Greg, for 10 years. We've lived in Dallas (4 years) Chicago (3 years) and now a suburb of Indianapolis with our son Zeke (born January 2014) and Wesley (born June 2016) and dog Miller. We love the journey God has us on together! I enjoy being a stay at home mom, cooking, playing volleyball (beach, grass or indoor, I'm there!), advocating for non-profit organizations in the fight against human trafficking, traveling and going on adventures! I am blessed by friends and family and the ministries and missionaries that we support. We love hosting people and getting to know them, so come on over for dinner or to stay the night! Above all, I love God and being reminded that I am His masterpiece (Ephesians 2:10), even with my flaws.

7 thoughts on “Worth(less)

  1. Chris

    Glad to see you writing. This far more open and substantive than most blog posts i read tend to be. I’m looking forward to following along.

    Reply
    1. Sarah Amidon Post author

      Thanks Chris, I look forward to your comments. Also, your old xanga blog is linked on my xanga page. Made me smile 🙂

      Reply
  2. Esther

    True Story. the heading is appropriate. Love to see you write more. I”m also going to try the apple sauce =)

    Reply
    1. Sarah Amidon Post author

      Thanks for reading & commenting, Esther! I would love for you to read more (I posted on Friday last week, so there you go!) 🙂 Amy’s applesauce recipe does sound delightful, you should definitely try it!!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Achievement is Fleeting too « Typing with My Tea

Leave a Reply

